Boot stuck on linux-zen

A few days ago my pc has been unable to boot to OS. Its currently getting stuck on

Loading Linux linux-zen
Loading initial ramdisk

Yesterday i was able to get into the OS by using a snapshot but that has sinse stopped working. Now im getting the following error when clicking on a snapshot. (below)

Error: file '/@/boot/intel-ucode.img^/@/boot/initramfs-linux-zen.img' not found. (hopefully no typos as i had to type this myself)

Does anyone have any ideas on how i can fix this? if anyone has any ideas please let me know. Warning i am still new to Linux i switched over about 2 months ago.

Also if this means anything im duel booting windows 10 and it works perfectly fine.

Hi there, welcome.
This is the reference tutorial in this case.
Most likely you can start directory with the chroot from live USB andupdate.

4 Likes

Windows may have messed up your boot.

Try:

or:

or:

The easier way to chroot is to boot into a Garuda live USB and do a grub repair from within Garuda Assistant. Then run grub-update.

You may also want to reinstall the Zen kernel from the chroot:

pacman -Syu linux-zen linux-zen-headers
4 Likes

when attempting sudo media/mnt I get File exists. Should I overwrite that? If so how should I do that?

When trying number 2 i get
sudogrub-probe: error cannot find grub device for /dev/sdc1. check your device.map

Since you're doing this from the live USB, with connectivity, it would be great if you could paste here the full input / output, to get the complete picture.

2 Likes

When opening Chroot i get this error PrivateBin

at the bottom is when i type the following

sudo mkdir /mnt
sudo mount /dev/sdxy /mnt
sudo garuda-chroot /mnt/@

for - How to chroot Garuda Linux

One issue im having is im not sure how to find the device that holds MBR

Instead of using the chroot button, which is probably generating that error, try to follow carefully the tutorial "how to chroot garuda linux".