Wifi problems RTL8723BE

Hi everybody, I'm a first time user of Garuda and so far, I love the distribution but I can't get my WiFi working. I'd rather not switch distros as I like garuda but I do need to be able to use the wifi. The problem is it doesn't even scan for any wifi networks in the area. I have added multiple different routers via network manager and still none of them will connect. It comes up with this "The access point /org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/AccessPoint/3 was not in the scan list."

I have gone on arch linux wifi troubleshooting and typed in lspci -k and it says this is my wifiadapter "RTL8723BE PCIe Wireless Network Adapter"

I have even download yay and downloaded drivers through the terminal for both a wifi adapter I have and the onboard wireless and still to no avail. I must have done something wrong somewhere. Can someone please help me and talk me through the process starting from scratch? I am relatively new to all this so I'm assuming I have made a mistake somewhere. I would be glad to provide more information.Thanks in advance.

Did you check either of the threads which mention this chipset?

4 Likes

Hi Jonathan, I have tried really everything in the second post, I have checked to see if my wifi module is blocked, it is neither hard blocked or soft blocked. I have downloaded and swapped to new kernels and still it doesn't work, I have even downloaded what I think is the correct kernel but that also hasn't helped. I'm just a bit baffled at this point. I have a wifi adapter with a disk but because Garuda is arch based, I have struggled to download the kernel as I couldn't find a linux guide. So I'm basically at stalemate now. Is there any information I can give u which would help diagnose this problem? Thanks.

Which driver is in use?

3 Likes

How do I check that Jonathan?

It's in the thread. inxi -Faz is a useful command here.

2 Likes