What's your favorite editor?

What’s your favorite terminal editor? Vim, Emacs, Micro? How did you get started using it? Why do you like it?

I started using Micro after I installed Garuda for the first time since it is the default editor. I liked it right off the bat because it was so easy to get started–it’s got the same keybindings as a lot of other applications like word processors or web browsers. As time goes on and I learn more about the advanced features it has I like it more and more. It’s so customizable! Pretty much any feature you want can be assigned to any keybinding you want, for example.

I have tried other editors too though, and invested a good deal of time into studying and practicing Vim because it was supposed to be so fast and efficent. Not to go into a long-winded Vim rant or anything, but…oh, what the heck, here’s a long-winded Vim rant:

Vim’s broken promise

I started studying Vim for probably the same reasons as most folks: reading fervent accounts from Vim enthusiasts about how once you learn it, it is so fast and efficient, and you just get into this zen-like workflow where your keystrokes are like movements in a dance, and blah blah blah. Plus, sometimes you’ll read something like this, where the guy is clearly a full-on Vim ninja. I gotta admit, it’s just really impressive for some reason.

Just to clarify before I get into it, I do not think Vim is a bad editor. It’s not terribly difficult to learn if you go through the tutorials and spend time practicing with it, and it has a lot of good features. Still, it doesn’t necessarily seem faster or more efficient than basically any other editor out there for most things, and for a lot of basic things it’s actually terribly unweildy for no reason except that is the way it has always been.