Learning Resources for Garuda- For complete Beginner

Hi there everyone,
After facing a very bad first experience on Garuda, and going back to windows(In between shitting on forum writing help topic without giving enough infos). I'm here again this time, i'm thinking of learning the basics first of how the Garuda Linux is setup under the hood so that i can solve errors, and issues and most important stop being a help vampire.

I want to ask is there is any Garuda 101 type thing that teaches about this OS or Should i search for Arch linux courses which are more available so that i can understand deeply the Garuda Docs. I'm complelely new to linux but want to make the transition. So i'm asking for any advice you guys can give me.

Detailed, Long, nerdy answers are most welcomed.

I corrected the topic header spelling. It will function better with search engines that way.

I would start with the Garuda Wiki, were it me. (Come to think about it, I did.) You can find the link in the upper right-hand part of the forum screen. Where it says Wiki. :slight_smile:

There’s also the Forum FAQs & Tutorials section. So you might make use of the already prominently featured resources. And avoid YouTube videos. They’re mostly crap.

6 Likes

Getting into Linux requires UNLEARNING bad habits taught to you by using Windows.

I'd watch some of the linux videos from Chris Titus, Switched to Linux, Distrotube and a few others to get to know some of the things about different distros. (Chris's video about Distros don't matter for example)

Make sure you're keeping enough backups in case you break stuff. I break stuff all the time.

Keep notes about new commands you learn. Physical notes if you can.

Learn to use the console as much as possible. GUI tools can fail and not give you important info about failing.

Be patient. You're not gonna be an expert overnight.

4 Likes