How to undervolt on linux?

Hello! Yesterday I made the decision to migrate from Windows to Linux after 15 years on Windows. I came across this Garuda (distro I think it’s called) and I can say I like it a lot, even though I have pretty much no idea what’s going on lol. Anyway on Windows I had Throttlestop as my main undervolt tool and I’ve been using it for at least 2 years. But now I have no idea how to undervolt on Linux and I wouldn’t like my cpu to melt since I’m on a laptop. Do you have any ideas as to how a beginner can undervolt his cpu on linux? Please be nice, thank you!

You should report the garuda-inxi output as was likely requested when posting.
Especially in this case, where hardware is involved.

I don’t have any experience to share, this is what I found online:
Undervolting CPU - ArchWiki
GitHub - georgewhewell/undervolt: Undervolt Intel CPUs under Linux
paru -Ss undervolt
paru -Ss corectrl

See also Corectrl will not allow overlock/undervolt after updating kernel

If you can find your way from there, good, otherwise if you have any doubt wait for someone with experience to give advice.
But without knowing your hardware, that is not possible. garuda-inxi please.

Last but not least, welcome.

3 Likes

Thank you for providing some information. Given that I’m still new to this whole thing I still don’t really understand much of anything that’s going on and I’m trying to learn. Much love to you!