How to create manual partition of disk for garudalinux

Hello developers.

I am new to linux community. I have dual booted linux along with windows 10 so as to have real experience of linux instead of VM. currently I am having kali linux on my machine. Few days ago i saw garuda linux review over YouTube.

So i alloted 50GB of my SSD for garudalinux like i did before for Kali. Basically i wanted to switch from kali to garuda gnome. I tried every tutorial and did my level best to create partitions for garuda. But i failed for 4 time. Can anyone tell me brief info about how can i dual boot garudalinux.

Thanking you in advance

1 Like

Can you tell us is your system legacy bios or uefi ?

And what was the failure error ?

For legacy bios system

You need to only create one btrfs partition and select mountpoint as /

And set boot flag.

For uefi

You need to create one 300 mb fat32 partition and mount it as /boot/efi and flag it with esp and boot

And one btrfs partition mount it as /

7 Likes

How are you trying to create your partitions?

Are you attempting this with gparted or other methods?

3 Likes

For ssd space allocation i used Disk Management (windows 10 default program) and took 50GB from main ssd partition.

I just wanted to about how many partition and how much space should i give from my 50gb partition in garuda installer as i don't want to mess with my windows.
Do I need to create / /home swap in the manual disk partition from garuda installer.

And what should be the file type ext4 or btfrs for these partition.

When i was trying to install it manly wants a partition with /mount point and fat32 with /boot/efi flag enabled.

Thanks for reply

I want to dual boot.I am on UEFI. Issue is that linux does not boot after installation simply because something wrong with my installation.