Gedit embedded terminal default directory

Ive started using gnome and I loved gedit, ctrl+F9 opens the embedded terminal but the directory is not the one I created my .cpp file in, by default it is in home directory. How should I set it so that the default directory is the directory I'm working in.

1 Like

What does the operating instructions say?

I'm just a beginner, only started couple weeks ago, I kinda don't know where to look at. First i started questioning in arch forums too and when I mentioned that I use Garuda I've been kicked out because they said go to Garuda linux forums, so apparently I thought I can't post questions at other linux forums.

1 Like

https://www.openoffice.org/xml/xmerge/downloads/gedit.html

Before opening a new help request, please search the Arch and Garuda Wiki's, and read any relevant sections related to your issue. Also, thoroughly search any error messages in the forum's search engine and on the web. For in depth information on how to search for answers to Linux issues effectively read the tips on the Garuda Wiki:

Please report in detail everything you have already attempted to solve your problem.

Ask in

1 Like

The home directory is based on the user launching the shell. Even if you figured out how to change it, I don’t think you should because you might create other problems.

You can add a line to your .bashrc and have the directory change as soon as you open the shell, as described here.

The simplest option would be to move the file you mentioned from your music folder to your home folder. If that is not possible or is otherwise undesirable, you can create a symbolic link to the file.

sudo ln -s Music/some.file

That way you can use the file from the home folder without moving it.