Cant get into boot menu when I put my usb (linux next to win11)

Hello!
Im new to linux and I watched a couple of videos about how to put linux next to win11 and i done everything as it said (put the usb on #1 bootable option) and yesterday I was able to get in to Grub and install but my install failed at choosing partition. After much tries I gave up and shut off my computer and plug my usb off. Today I tried it again but when I plug in my usb the menu wont let me in I smash f2 so hard but nothing but if i plug it out I can get into boot menu(I tired it with and out secure boot and fast boot) the thing is i cant see my 2 ssd drives only a "2." but nothing after it. I tried to set my boot into default but it frozes, format usb then bootable again, using other usb but still not booting and cant get into the menu. I dont know whats going on with my boot menu but im a little bit scared of losing data .

What should I do? Format my disks or idk?

Thanks,
Gerzson

1 Like

BTW, dual boot is not supported by Garuda Linux, it work fine until M$ break it, so, you are on your self.

4 Likes

I see, obviously you need to smash the key harder for things to work.

:rofl:

6 Likes

Welcome to the Garuda Forum
Are you able to boot into Win11 now?
Could you give some brief details about your PC, manufacturer, CPU, GPU...
So the issue is, you can boot the live Garuda USB, but it refuses to install on the disk, right?
Did you partition your disk for Garuda beforehand from Windows?

I would suggest you learn some basics about Linux partition schemes, maybe from youtube or some web articles(eg- https://www.howtogeek.com/howto/35676/how-to-choose-a-partition-scheme-for-your-linux-pc/)
I will suggest you to be familiar with manual partitioning instead of relying on automatic partitioning.
Basically, in short, you need,

1. /boot/efi partition, where your boot files are stored
  2. /, partition, which is also known as the root partition where the system files are stored