BTRFS error : system boot in emergency mode

When I boot in garuda, it boot in emergency mode and I get this error :
[ 6.929967° BTRFS: error (device dm-0) in btrfs_run_delayed_refs:2171:errno=-5 IO failure
(the issue is from garuda since I can boot in regular arch linux on another drive)
I also get this issue when trying to boot from snapshot or other kernels.
When I try to install something with pacman, it says that the system is read only.
Maybe the issue is a mount failure?
Also, I cannot paste the output of journalctl -xb because internet does not work but here is a picture :

Search the forum, there are a few threads like this, see if any match your problems. :slightly_smiling_face:

https://forum.garudalinux.org/search?q=btrfs%20error%20

If not, help will arrive.

1 Like

yep, look like a duplicate of

Work through the thread - is your SSD at fault?

I am no expert (far from it), but read through and see the solution...how old/full is your drive?

Maybe some disk testing utiliy can confirm/disprove?

df –h / Output 244G used and 466G available.

I don’t think my ssd is the fault because I bought it like 4 months ago

What utility do you recommend me?

I don’t :grin: I am a noob of 8 weeks using Garuda, I’m just trying to help.

Best to wait for more experienced members, who know their stuff, sorry.

Someone will be here, shortly.

I just noticed something, @zhelan posted his issue the same day I got it, maybe the issue is from an update who broke some boot param in grub?

The solution to his problem says, no - it was lack of space, apparently. :slightly_smiling_face:

So I don't have the same issue because, I have 217G available

Then you are back to waiting for others here.

I don't remember seeing a report of an update bricking BTRFS, AFAIK.

1 Like

Your issue looks like it's from an interrupted package update.
Use a Garuda ISO installer to chroot to your system and do proper package update with pacman.