Windows 10 vs. Garuda Linux

I am confused whether I should switch back to Windows 10 or not. I really love using Garuda Linux and I want to know more what makes it different from other OS?

Not to be rude, but if you don't know what makes Linux different from Windows how are you using Linux? Have you never used Windows before? I really want to know now.

5 Likes

I am new to Linux and wanted to switch back to Windows for some software availabity and I thought for dual booting the both OS. I just wanted to know more features that makes Garuda Linux stand out from other linus distros.

1 Like

Oh, I get it now.

Not gonna lie, if you're absolutely new to Linux my first choice wouldn't be an Arch based distro like Garuda, since it takes a teeeeny-tiny bit more knowledge about system maintenance and it's easier to break if you don't know what you are doing. My first recommendation for the absolute beginner would be ubuntu-based Pop_OS! or Linux Mint.

But, if you're interested in Garuda and/or have even a little amount of experience with Linux, let me give you a quick rundown of its features:

• Uses Arch linux repos + chaotic-AUR repos by default (so it's bleeding edge updated with acess to the AUR to find basically ANY program you need)
    ("If it exists in Linux, you can find it in the AUR." -Me, 2020.);
  • Custom kernel out of the box for better performance;
  • BTRFS as the default file system (among with Timeshift pre-installed for the PERFECT user friendly backup system);
  • ZRAM by deafult to improve system responsiveness;
  • GUIs for basically everything you need, where in other distros you'd need to mess with the terminal:
  1. Installing and maintening your graphics drivers, specially if you have a NVIDIA card (just like on Manjaro);
  2. Package management with support for snaps and flatpaks through pamac (also just like on Manjaro);
  3. Dealing with system maintenance with Garuda Assistant;