What shell do you use and why?

Hello - I just discovered Garuda last week but so far I really dig what I've seen. There's a pretty active thread here showing how users have their terminals set up and I noticed that many have kept fish though some are using bash or zsh. I thought, why does one use the shell they use? Is there an advantage to using one shell or another depending upon the distro, DE or WM? Does it really just come down to preference followed closely by whatever was bundled with the distro you're using?
I'd add here that I've never used fish before last week but I think it's well documented and I like it. I'm curious what others think.

Bash -> on low end pc, it is much faster.

Fish-> If you want simple interface.

Zsh-> If you want to flaunt your terminal, it is the best choice.

There are several other things that matter, for example auto predictions. I really love it. Also, I don't much love fish either, just because of personal preference. I use zsh, because it looks more beautiful, at least to me.

2 Likes

I am of the piscatorial persuasion myself :wink:

I like simple.

1 Like

I love zsh with ohmyzsh, but it's not for everyone.

2 Likes

Garuda is the first distro I have used which uses anything other than Bash, I like Fish so far, really I haven't noticed too many differences yet apart from predictive text and some formatting and coloring differences (which I like).

As a relative newbie when it comes to shells, one thing that seems to me to be a strong advantage of Bash is that it is the default 99% of the time, and its been around forever. As a newbie, staying with the herd can have its advantages until you become more proficient (particularly when looking for help or trying to follow a tutorial exactly or diagnose a problem). However in practice, I somewhat like Fish so far and there really hasn't been any learning curve or troubles (yet)

1 Like

I have strong feelings and opinions about shells. :nerd_face: