Thoroughly Impressed with Garuda

I had distro hopped on Garuda a couple years ago before I switched my daily driver to Windows.

I'm very impressed with Garuda this time around. Everything works. This is the first "Out of Box" experience I've had with any Linux Distro to date. So many distro's claim to be "Out of Box", and this is the first actually experience of that. Having been a Linux user for 8 years, I'm expecting something to break.

But I'm refraining from making changes to this. I used to constantly mess around with Plasma and bits and pieces that would work for a while, but eventually seemed to break. This time I'm leaving that all alone. I'm not a Linux expert, but I know enough to cause damage. So, I've been saying to myself lately, "If I change this, do I know how to reverse this?" This has been saving me a lot of hassle. For example, I hate the Mac-like title bar. So, I'm just getting used to it and I'm no longer going to worry about it.

I decided to completely switch our Family laptop in our Kitchen to Garuda, and it's become an instant hit with my 9 year old son and 6 year old daughter. Their first question was "Does it play Roblox?", and somehow, I got it to work on Garuda, so they are super happy. You should have seen my son's reaction when he first saw Garuda, his mind was blown away with how beautiful the GUI looked.

I don't want to waste too much time here, but it's been wonderful using Garuda.

12 Likes

If your son decides to spend to much time on the computer with Garuda, introduce him to Windows 11. :rofl:

9 Likes

I think that would count as child cruelty. :face_with_monocle: :joy:

12 Likes

My son was using windows 10 on that laptop before I switched it to Garuda and he stated himself that he doesn't like Windows after using Garuda. I'm raising a winner.

12 Likes

This is how we learn Linux. (As long as it’s not broken hardware. :wink: )

This is a lesson-learned. :smiley:

You’re right where you need to be.