Thank you a lot!

I have been using Linux since 1999 when I was student. As a passionate user innumerable times done install experiments and usage experiments countless distributions including quite unheard ones. Due to responsibilities at various fronts, these days at the most once in a year or two at max I get chance to try different ones and a round up of how things are around to get first hand knowledge. For the last few days I was in dire need to find a good distribution. Main problem was vmware has become so unreliable and in many distributions with latest hardware, it was a tough thing and when I had updated, worst things happened and I decided to move to KVM as my need for some esoteric setup is over and may not need vmware workstation again.

I was hesitant to use Garuda Linux for this purpose though when I had tried my hands at various distributions, I only had lost lot of productive time to make things work in the way I wanted.

Finally I tried Garuda Linux today and during install it did not delete partition table reporting the error and stopping. Thought, this too … (sorry but sharing my initial wrong impression). But then tried looking help; solved easily.

A few small hurdles like making windows key work, dbus_vs_dotnet install issue, installing exa, removing --icons in .bashrc.

But after installing KVM, it was the most unexpected experience till date with any distribution I had tried. It just worked as if it read what is deep in my mind wished for. Amazing experience !!

Don’t get me wrong when I say, I remembered what Linus Torvalds long back said out of frustration when desktop environments did not work as intended when he had tried installing and using but falling short of his expectation. At that time I did not realize the importance as I was not so much dependent on usability back then. But now it is absolutely critical for me as I can not spend time on the stuff like when I was a student nor earlier / early mid stages of my career.