Small Garuda manual for complete newbies

Btw, I want to create a small garuda manual for complete newbies so that they can know garuda and linux better. I will include a section about kernels too. I guess it can be added in garuda welcome app, as it starts after installing the system. That way we can use the stable kernel and give info about other kernels too, without creating new tools that much. Garuda installer images are already too bloated, if we include several kernels it will require additional storage, or if we will download them from net then it will slow down the installation and can potentially be a security problem.

8 Likes

There is a wiki that can be extended with a “Beginner to Linux” section?

Alternatively, including a user manual with the installation image is an option, though from experience very few people will ever say that they have read it.

4 Likes

Well, they should be cross-connected, but the wiki is too scary and clunky for newbies, and the manual will definitely be called "USEFUL INFO", with the first page being giant letters "DO NOT WORRY, THIS TEXT IS SMALL AND SIMPLE ENOUGH FOR YOU TO READ"

3 Likes

You're never going to get "complete newbies" from total beginners to understanding how to use Linux in a couple of paragraphs. Reading will be involved, no matter where it happens, and if people can't/won't read then you're putting in effort with no direct benefit.

It's probably better directing the effort to existing wiki, tutorial, and FAQ posts, then pointing people on the forum/Telegram/etc. towards them as appropriate.

3 Likes

Okay, I will just expand wiki. But is there a way to export pages from there besides just copying the html code? Some just might have issues with their Internet, and some just hate to open a browser another one time

3 Likes