Need help to choose different Hard drive for downloading update or creating timeshift backup

Hi community. Hope you well in this pandemic. I am here to ask is there any possible way to transfer the location to another hard disk for downloading system update by doing (sudo pacman -Syyu) or downloading software or creating timeshift backup by default. And making a bridge so that the garuda system access those files form that provided location. I have already created another BRTFS partition on my secondary hard drive. As a newbie i don't know this technical things. If there is way please help me to change the location. Thank you.

Information about system.
Using: Garuda KDE dragonized edition.

I am not sure I entirely understand your questions but I can give you a couple of answers:

• Timeshift, when using btrfs, doesn't support sending snapshots to other devices
  • It is possible to send btrfs snapshots to others devices via the commandline using btrfs send, btrfs receive

As for the rest, you might have to explain what you are trying to accomplish in a more clear way.

5 Likes

If what you want to do is use a disk other than the one the operating system is installed upon, I would do (and do) this:

1. Obtain the UUID for the second drive. Probably the easiest for a newcomer is to use gnome-disk-utility (you may need to first install it).
  2. Mount the drive in /etc/fstab. There are plenty of examples around.
  3. Reboot, then symlink the data directories to your first drive's /home/your_user directory and you should be good to go.

On the other hand, if what you want to do is store your Timeshift snaps on the secondary drive and be able to restore from there, you can't (at least not yet) with BTRFS. You can store copies of the snaps there as @dalto explained, but you cannot restore from them at boot.

regards

3 Likes