My experience so far

So for about the last two weeks I've been looking a good Linux distro to move to. I'm fairly new to Linux, although I have installed a couple distros in my time. I never quite made the commitment to leave windows entirely, though. Until recently.

Started with Ubuntu, but while Ubuntu felt good, something about the giant Amazon app in the Ubuntu repository list held above all the others makes me feel a bit uneasy about the platform. Plus apparently there's been... controversies with some decisions Cannonical has made surround privacy. Thus, I began looking elsewhere. I intended to anyway, but this sped things up by a good month or two.

I went to SparkyLinux. I installed their GameOver edition. Too many apps, to many decisions made for me, so I switched to their minimalGUI, and decorated the room myself. As of yet, the minimal install (and further customization) of SparkyLinux has been the easiest install, to include Garuda. That may be because I worked out the quirks instilling Ubuntu, both are Debain. Ended up with LXQt desktop. Intended on keeping that setup into the unknown future.

Then I found Garuda. Yes, I'm interested in using as little ram as possible. But that assumes the extra ram used is used unintelligently. Think of ram as money. I don't like spending money. But if you can convince me I get something valuable out of spending that money, I might just spend it. I believe Garuda does that (with ram). But, it's the attempt at user accessibility that interested me particularly. The more people who use Linux, the more software developers target it, the less money Microsoft and Apple get. Heck, if the Pinephone or Librem get more traction, it may even hit Google. So, I guess you could classify my interest in Linux as a zealous blood feud against silicone valley. I do plenty of gaming as well.