Moving /home to a different hard drive

Hello. Let me start by saying Im fairly new to the linux world. I have played with Mint and Ubuntu as a daily driver but found them not to my liking (even though I use Ubuntu on my home server) so Im gave Garuda a try. So far I like it very much. Im trying to get off windows completely. So heres my issue, I want to completely remove my /home partition off my SSD and move it to one of my HDDs. What I did so far was create a new partition btrfs and used sudo btrfs device add /dev/sdb2 /home followed by sudo btrfs filesystem balance /home previous to deciding this. Ive backed up the data I care about from the home directory already and tried to unmount and delete the home partion on the SSD via KDE Partition tool and commands but it wont let me, get a response saying "target is busy". I could just do a fresh install but id rather not. Is there anyway to do this without breaking anything? TY in advance.

ps. Sorry if this doesnt make sense.

Just Whoogle, Searx :slight_smile:

Read

please and

:slight_smile:

2 Likes

You cannot delete a partition that is in use. This type of operation requires the partition to be unmounted.Operations such as this are best done from the live environment using gparted (or alternate).

Just FYI, it's possible you may suffer a performance hit moving your /home from your SSD to a slower platter drive. You will also need to edit fstab to reflect any partition changes you've made.

Personally, I would leave my /home as is and simply symlink your contents in your hard drive into your home directory. I've never done what you are attempting, as I always simply symlink to my home, (so others may have better advice to offer).

7 Likes