Microsoft Office on Linux

Hi there, so essentially I have a dilemma. I'm not new to Linux at all and have been dual booting for a while and have been fine with libre office as could dual boot windows. But I can no longer do this due to the new laptop and space on the SSD. I have no real reason to use Windows and want to replace it entirely with Garuda but the problem is that I am studying for my postgraduate course in September. In the past I have opened a file made in Libre Office in Microsoft Word and the formatting is all wrong. So my question is, what would you people recommend for someone in my situation? Word through wine? Ah electron app? The website? A virtual machine? Or something else? Thanks lots,
Adam

Stick with windows you have answered your own question? sorry for being blut

1 Like

Yeah fair enough I appreciate you being blunt instead of any rubbish tbh so thanks. But the thing is it's literally just Microsoft Office so I feel there are alternatives that would be good okay but it's just annoying you know as it's one small thing, like literally Microsoft Word that is stopping me from switching to Garuda. Just wish there was a proper solution.

Libreoffice is continuously improving MSO compatibility, but no sure solution can be provided when dealing with closed source software.

The real issue is not Libreoffice compatibility to MS Office. It is the fact that official agencies, governments, companies etc. are not using open standards for their office or other files formatting. For example, they could use ODT for documents. Then MSO and all OpenOffice alternatives would have identical representation of the files.

4 Likes

May i ask what country you are in?
I ask as in if youare in the uk or Europe they legally have to except the open document format ? why use word

1 Like

I’ve had that happen but it was several years back. WPS Office worked fine. It’s in the AUR: AUR (en) - wps-office

1 Like