Login screen "loop" after latest update

Greetings everyone and thank you for this amazing OS.

I’ve been using Garuda Dr460nized for the past 4 months and it has been wonderful and stable, I update itthrough the assistant and never had any issues. Until yesterday, when I started an update as normal and now I’m stuck at a login screen loop where I can only login to tty3-6 (tty1 causes my monitor to go into standby mode). I’ve checked journalctl closely and I found a bunch of X11 errors right after sddm initializes, mostly code 1 and saying display:0 has a fatal I/O error (I dunno if it’s related), and also a bunch of errors saying Plasma couldn’t be started. I then just immediatelly tried to restore a snapshot from before the update, but it never really restores anything (might be because I’m running the command from tty? grub doesn’t show up during boot). I’m afraid to go and keep trying things on my own and end up destroying the system beyond repair. I’m posting this from my phone, I can’t run garuda-inxi as it also makes my monitor do into standby mode. I would have no problems reinstalling the OS but I really can’t lose my work-related documents and files, and code projects. Thank you guys in advance for any help! I hope the system isn’t already totaled at this point…

While we wait for others to weigh in let me ask a few things. How big is the drive you have Garuda on, and is Garuda the only thing you have on that drive? If it’s 200 gigs or larger and you’re using less than half of it for your current install I would install another copy of Garuda behind it, update it, install the apps that you have files you don’t want to lose from those apps and see if you can access those files from the newly installed Garuda.

2 Likes