Is it safe to install W11 in a flash drive USB to use it sometimes? (My SSD has full Garuda installed)

Hello, I'm new to Linux, I just installed Garuda on my PC a few days ago (And I love it!) I have a little problem that is just I can't use a certain game on Linux, so I was thinking that since is just one game it would be useful to use a USB flash drive (256GB) to install W11 in it and play sometimes.
Would that be safe or it could cause some problems? As I said I just entered the Linux world a few days ago so I don't know a lot.

(Sorry if my english is bad)

Is there some reason you cannot run a virtual machine?

Yes, I think. I don't know much about virtual machines yet, but as far as I have read I can't put more GPU resources into it, It would probably run but with lag.

What specifically do you want to run on Windows? Running it through a flash drive is very painful. Many Windows programs can run natively via Wine, so hopefully you can avoid Windows entirely. 256mb video memory with hardware acceleration is plenty enough for a lot of common situations.

Well, it is not a game, but a patch for a game. The game (Is a VIsual novel) runs fine on Garuda but I have tried to install the patch many times without success. It appears it is outdated + that a different patch is coming for another game and it appears it will not be available for linux in a while. The patch is basically because the game has a terrible translation.
The game is Chaos;Head Noah and I tried to install "The committee of Zero patch" but it did not work :frowning:

1 Like

I would recommend using either a dedicated second drive in the computer or external SSD or HD drive. Why? flash drives aren't really designed to run operating systems and have a tendency to fail more often than SSD's or hard drives. You may also get better performance from an SSD or HD drive than a USB flash drive. Ultimately you are free to do whatever you want.

2 Likes