Is it safe to enter your email password into geary?

Hi, [Sorry for this dumb question!!!]

I searched for this online but didn't find anything - I guess no one is as paranoid as me!

Anyhow, I have never used an email client and intrigued with using Geary!
When signing in, it asks for my email ID and password...
Is it safe to enter my password into Geary? Won't that be sent to Geary servers which can later get hacked?
Also, in Settings, there's an option to connect to "online accounts" like Gmail and Outlook? What does that do? Should I connect [read: is it safe?]?

Thanks,

P.S: I know what you might be thinking! Doesn't this guy have an email app on his phone? Why does he trust that? Well, I use the Gmail app for Gmail accounts and the outlook app for Microsoft accounts because I guess it's their apps, and I am using their services. This is my first time using a third-party email client, which is why I am a bit worried!

Nothing is safe in this world.
Except that we all have to die and the earth will fall on the sun one day.

What seems safe today can be hacked tomorrow, so discussion is obsolete.

4 Likes

Obviously, the userid/password combo is required to access to your email. You do want to access your email right? I rather doubt that Geary sends your credentials anywhere but the server it's configured to access, but it IS open-source and you can verify that by auditing the code and compiling your own copy.
I also assume you know that every server you access will have your credentials somewhere and that your access to Google and MS services are multi-server: access/account verifications, side-server (dispensing HTML elements, ads,etc), resource server (email). You will NOT be able to determine what they do with that, since it is NOT open source and basically will be what most benefits the company.