Interested to talk about brtfs file system

Hello Brothers. I am here to ask to clear myself about the BRTFS filesystem. Although this is a meaningless topic to discuss about. Actually i have lost two of my hard disk which is not working right now. Because this is happened when i am started BRTFS filesystem on my lost hard disk. I formatted my hard disk 500GB for cache storage for pacman. I keep getting confused is BTRFS file system break my hard disk or not ( Although this is a funny and useless so forgive me. ). One of my hard disk had 100% health, brought 4 years ago And other one is 14 years age and had 40% health.

1. So my question is BRTFS filesystem is better than ext4 or not?
  2. Is there any rules that i should follow for using BRTFS file system?
  3. Can i use NTFS file system for cache storage for Pacman?

I just want to clearfy myself. Because i am new to linux. Hope you all help me out. Thanks.

It isn’t better or worse. It is just different. btrfs offers many more features than ext4 at the cost of a small amount of performance. At the same time, btrfs is more reliable in some ways and less reliable in others.

There is one rule you should follow with every filesystem. Back up any data you don’t want to lose.

You shouldn’t. ntfs doesn’t support posix file permissions so it shouldn’t be used for anything except media storage in most cases.(Technically, you can make ntfs support posix but that is separate and advanced topic)

You should replace this drive if you can. If you can’t, be sure not to store any data on it you don’t want to lose.

8 Likes

What about My 1 Tb storage which have 100% health. And i lost it around 2 month before?

Does posix file permission possible to brake or corrupt the disk with NTFS file system.

And My most wanted question is, can i used different filesystem in different partition in Same Hard disk?

Yes you can.

1 Like