Ideapad gaming 3 uk - will xfce offer a better experience (i5CPU)

Hi Thank you for creating this amasing os. Unfortunately I have quite a few fundamental problems.

The installation went quite well but I am not experienced enough to paste my garuda-inxi from the terminal. I am used to left mouse down drag to highlight (which works) and then right click to copy but unfortunately this does not work for me.

As a result I do not expect anyone can help me so I am just posting here to give what feedback I can to perhapse help improve things a little.

My locale is UK GB and the keyboard I chose was English UK (exteded, windows) because this laptop is expected to run M$ Win 10 (it has 102 keys). Apps like FireDragon, Thunderbird and Gedit do not receive the correct codes for @ # " ÂŁ etc. but in this window they do ?

The other thing that is holding be back quite a bit is that my eyesight is not as good as when I was much younger and I used the "configure outputs" plugin 'wdisplays' to scale the entire desktop. This works ok but looses persistence occasionally also the in frame feedback of size seems to go in the opposite direction ie. it gets smaller when one increases the DPI scale. One last point on this utility is that if one disables it then the entire display goes blank. I had to roll back to a snapshot to regain control.

I am really sorry if this reads like a moan, it definately is not and I wish you lots of luck and positive gains.

I primarily chose this distro because of timeshift and btrfs and I would like to get away from Ubuntu snap and bloat.

If there is no quick fix for my woes I have Just one question;

I like wayfire however does anyone know if I will have fewer problems with xfce or other non-wayland based desktops ?

Many thanks in advance and if there are some simple fixes then I would be willing to put in some more effort and give additional feedback.

Best regards,
Oz