How do I make internal SATA drives hold games?

Hello!
I'm new to linux so your help would be very much appreciated.
Since I used to be a gamer on windows, I wanted to start installing my steam library. I started partitioning my internal SSD and HDDs to format them as EXT4. Once I had them all partitioned (and after a few reboots), I thought I could just mount them and start installing some of my library onto them. It took a few hours but they installed pretty quickly. I then turned off my system for a few hours to go work on another project and my steam library is completely empty, but the drives still have the steam library folders on them. So all I'm wondering is how i get those internal drives to stay internal and not removable. Thanks!

Sorry if this isn't formatted right, I wasn't sure how to format it since it has nothing to do with the console.

Thanks so much for your help!
-A new linux user

have you created any entries in /etc/fstab? That way when you reboot the mounts you previously created should be there. Are the permissions for the folders set for access by both steam and the user?

2 Likes

Hey my man! I havent been able to execute that in Konsole because:
fish: The file “/etc/fstab/” is not executable by this user
I'm not sure how to access that to be honest. I'll have to do some more digging.

use the command micro /etc/fstab

1 Like

Not sure what to do with all of this. I'll look into it. Thanks for the help though! i appreciate it

Worth reading: fstab - ArchWiki

4 Likes

Thanks. I tried messing around with this but it wouldn't let me access it before because of the afformentioned denied access. I'll be sure to check this out though.

It is a file, not an executable, which is why you can’t run it.

Please read the wiki page - it explains what the file does in a lot of detail (it’s dry and technical, but everything you could ever want to know is in there).

3 Likes

If you can't make heads or tails of editing fstab, there is a GUI method.