How do I install FIGLET ? | Help for NOobs

Hi have created this new topic for people in need of support/advice/assistance in using Garuda and for those leet who wish to spare some time in helping the noobs out.

I am new to linux in general and recently installed Garuda, the very little linux I know has not been helpfull for me getting along with Garuda despite the fact I absolutly love the look and feel of Garuda.

I seem to be hitting brick walls all over the place with just the simplist of tasks.

Now I have Garuda installed on my laptop I wish to perservere rather than revert back to Ubuntu which I am more familiar with.

The problems I am facing is I have no knowledge of pacman and on ubuntu I used snap, where I could simply search an app and install following instruction.

So I am new to linux.
new to pacman.
new to fish.
new to Garuda.
and found little to none usefull help on searches for my issues.

I did try installing snapd on my system but after install encountered problems, after reading up on snapd Ive decided I dont want it anyway due to its spyware related issues.

but I am now stuck on removing the unsuccessfull installation.

If there is a similar production to snapd withut the spyware that I can run on Garuda please inform me.

when using ubuntu I tried installing an xbox1 controller but to no prevail, aparently I would need an older xbox controller to do so, today I found an old xbox controller when cleaning out a cupboard so I would like to task myself with making this compatible with Garuda (if this is possible).

(p.s apologies for any spelling mistakes I have mild dislexia).

I also cannot install figlet with FISH, all info on figlet install requires apt-get which FISH does not accomadate.

So how do I install FIGLET on Garuda?

sudo pacman -S figlet

And try to learn about your new OS. Garuda does not equal Ubuntu.

3 Likes

Read
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pacman/Rosetta

1 Like

Awsome thank you

Don't give up.