Home partition

Hello, im new to linux, and especially new to Garuda, i didnt know how to manually do partitioning like i do in Windows, so i just erased everything on SSD and let Garuda install.
Now, im booted, and im even writing from the OS (very nice btw), BUT. I have another hard disk, 1TB, and i wanna know how can i make that my partition for everything but OS related? which i guess is named Home partition.

If you format in Btrfs you can add this as home, but only needed if your main ssd is very small.

And
:slight_smile:

my SSD is small, i used it only for OS, its 128 gb only and my HDD is 1TB, thats why i want my HDD as my main drive for home, also, if you could tell me what drivers are better, open source or proprietary?

I use KDE ultimate on 120 GiB, ssd no problem.

If you reach 80% call again.

I have 4 and 2 TB hdd they are in ext4 and btrfs, for backup, pic, movie, data.

HDD is very slow, so let it for Data not for system home on /@home.

Linux is not Windows :smiley:

how should i do it for games only then? because the space i got on ssd is surely not enough for my games, (steam) and others

You can add another disk to extend your space

sudo btrfs device add /dev/sdb /home

This will add the 1tb hdd to extend space in /home

Remember to format the 1tb hdd to btrfs before adding it

Then balance the filesystem

With

sudo btrfs filesystem balance /home
2 Likes

i formatted as you said, but i get this error

Make sure /dev/sdb is your hdd

Or you might end up destroying another drives data

If it is the hdd

Then do what its saying

sudo btrfs device add /dev/sdb /home -f
2 Likes

thank you very much, i checked properties in /home and it worked, really appreciate the fast support

2 Likes

Please read also the wiki, no pictures for terminal output, thanks.

2 Likes