Hi, I'm a noob!

Hi,

I'm a fairly new Linux user. Started out with deb distros (Kali, Parrot, Ubuntu). Although moved on towards Garuda as I found it visually more appealing and since I'm trying to learn more about Linux I figured an Arch based Distro might be more useful.
I'm interested in Cyber Security and am on a path to educate myself into that direction and obviously pentesting. You'll probably find me lurking around the forum and reading to get a more general understanding of how stuff works and if I feel like I can help, you'll definitely see posts in support.

Why am I here?
To learn as stated above. But mainly, I found a lot of sources to get support really toxic and unwelcoming. I joined here because I had an issue, and felt welcomed as a newbie. People seemed eager to help, were responding quickly and generally put in a lot of effort to help me. And now I'd also like to benefit by learning more and contribute by helping out if I can.

Thank you for reading, and a big shout out to the members that dedicated time and effort into getting me started!

17 Likes

Sometimes I also have good days :slight_smile:

But the others are all nice, unless you annoy them :smiley:

And
95c8e75418a82c8389bdb6a8795898065618f4f1

8 Likes

This is definitely a good day :wink:

7 Likes

Wait until I start asking questions that are very basic :sweat_smile:

Welcome! You will find friends here. Kali and/or parrot vm is still very useful even if garuda is your main bare metal OS. I dabbled on the pentesting path to gain some basics to set up my home lab for machine learning. Those skills are invaluable and often an afterthought in other areas of IT.

Basic questions are no matter so long as you've shown you can search the forum and google.

3 Likes

Yeah, I got to be honest. Searching isn't my strong suit. Often just feel like I can't format it properly.