Help me rename my wireless interfaces, permanently

I’m studying networking and having a blast, but the thing is I often plug in a new interface, put it into monitor mode, start capturing with it, unplug it, move it to my laptop, raspberry pi… and have to cope with all the pesky names that each time they receive from the kernel (or systemd I should say).
I’m not too familiar with adding rules in systemd and tbh I found almost none to take inspiration from in my default install here in Garuda (my main distro on all my machines).

Looking around I found something in /usr/lib/systemd/network/99-default.link from which I quote:

To make local modifications, one of the following methods may be used:

1. yadayada
  2. copy this file into /etc/systemd/network or one of the other paths checked
    by systemd-udevd and edit it there.
    This file should not be edited in place, because it’ll be overwritten on upgrades.

[Match]
OriginalName=*

[Link]
NamePolicy=keep kernel database onboard slot path
AlternativeNamesPolicy=database onboard slot path
MACAddressPolicy=persistent

Can you help me create this rule and explain me all the fields I need to edit or comment out? Like, I get what ‘OriginalName’ means, but where to put the ‘modified name’? And what do all those rules mean in the ‘AlternativeNamesPolicy’ field?

So far I’m using a shell script but that’s very inconvenient since I need to stop all the networking daemons first, rename the interfaces and restart the daemons. Not happy about it. Any other way to achieve the same result without adding a new rule?

Let me understand this a bit better. You want some kind soul to write you a full tutorial and post it here?

What do you have to bring to the table?

Is it some big secret?

4 Likes

I confess I know nothing about this topic and bring to the table only my usual Arch Wiki link, right or wrong, useful or not :wink:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Network_configuration#Change_interface_name

5 Likes