Grub-customizer

I normally use the pkg "grub-customizer" to make xanmod my default kernel in grub. But now, after switching to garuda, it is giving me an error. And the boot-options selection on the welcome screen briefly flashes and then goes back to the welcome screen.

grub-customizer is giving me this error-

I am assuming it has something to do with the system being btrfs, which I am brand new to and know nothing about.

I am sure that there are other grub-customizer users here, as it is probably the easiest/best way to manage grub.

Thanks in advance,

Squidd

Never use grub-customizer on any OS unless you want to have problems. :scream:

8 Likes

This is written with Linux Mint in mind, but the same principles apply to all distros:

The main problem with Grub Customizer in a nutshell: as long as it works as expected, all is fine.

But when there is a problem, removing it and trying to boot without it can create big difficulties. Because the program has done major changes in /etc/grub.d, which would all have to be undone manually. For uninstalling Grub Customizer after using it, does not remove its changes.

7 Likes

should of read this first lol

2 Likes

thanks for the link;

this is actually the first time I've ever heard a suggestion to not use grub-customizer. I've been using it for well over a year without issue. but I will take this into account the next time I do a reinstall.

that being said, I still don't know how to modify this arrangement to have xanmod be on the top level menu, so now whenever I reboot I need to go to "advanced options", and then select it from there.

I think Garuda's setup is different from what I am used to due to the btrfs snapshot menu. Is there a different process for editing the grub menu in Garuda?