Great script to localize garuda-update's mirror list

This script finds your wan ip and country based on that ip. Then changes main-update with the appropriate code. I have been using this for a few months. I would like this run every time garuda-update is updated but I have not figured that part out yet.

#!/bin/sh
country=(whois $(dig +short myip.opendns.com @resolver1.opendns.com) | awk ' /[Cc]ountry/{print $2}')"

echo "Changing rate-mirrors mirror list form global to $country"
sed -i 's/using rate-mirrors,/using rate-mirrors for $country and close Neighbours,/' /usr/lib/garuda/garuda-update/main-update
sed -i 's/&& rate-mirrors --allow-root/&& rate-mirrors --protocol https --max-jumps 1 --concurrency 5 --entry-country $country --country-test-mirrors-per-country 7 --country-neighbors-per-country 1 --allow-root/' /usr/lib/garuda/garuda-update/main-update

echo "Changing reflector mirror list from global to $country"
sed -i 's/using reflector,/using reflector for $country,/' /usr/lib/garuda/garuda-update/main-update
sed -i 's/--age 2 --fastest/--age 2 --country $country --fastest/' /usr/lib/garuda/garuda-update/main-update

wrong category..... sorry. I am sure someone with more privileges can move this.

I wanted to add something like this to garuda-update before, actually. But discussion in the team has convinced me not to, because rate-mirrors simply doesn't need this, really.
What's your reasoning for wanting to force rate-mirrors to use a specific country?

4 Likes

As @ TNE said, it is not needed to have nearest mirror, but the best one in terms of speed, ping and reliability. Many users might be there with not a single mirror in their country.

That's why we don't change it in garuda-update

7 Likes

Since I can not program :slight_smile:
Once determine the country. Germany (or DE). :smiley:
and then

sudo sed -i 's/reflector --latest/reflector --country Germany --latest/' /usr/lib/garuda/garuda-update/main-update

Done.

The question remains, why?