First impressions - the great and the jank of Garuda Linux

Hi!

I'm an artist/YouTuber/FOSS advocate currently using Manjaro KDE on all my machines. I currently work in game dev doing SFX, voice acting, video production and music - all using 100% FOSS and Linux. Ok - I sometimes boot into Windows 10, but for the past year I've never needed it to do my job - thankfully.

Someone from my community brought Garuda Linux to my attention.

What immediately struck me as great choices are:

Btrfs on root by default suing zstd compression + Timeshift snapshots before every upgrade.
This is something I've been doing manually for about a year now (maybe longer?), and it seems amazing to see a Linux distro doing that by default.

Arch-based: I love Manjaro and Arch Linux seems like an excellent base for a performant and flexible system, especially fro someone like me who lives on the bleeding edge, making videos about new software releases and testing a lot of stuff that's hard to get on non-Arch-based Linux Distributions.

At this point I've only tested Garuda in a VM (I know it's not recommeneded), but I intend to give it a go on bare metal. My home studio machine is Ryzen 7 1700 + RX480 + 32 GB of RAM for video editing and content creation.

I am interested to see how Garuda handles my workload. I capture video with OBS and edit with Olive. Also do graphics and animation in Blender, and work on games in Godot engine.

Let me now drop in some negatives :smiley:

I think the plymouth theme and the KDE log-in splash screen are not looking great. The are way too complex and the logo looks rather amature to me.

As a graphics designer, who's also been designing logos for clients I need to tell you - the eagle head logo is not a great one, and in my opinion - needs to be changed. The problems are:

1. Too complex - the more shapes your logo has, the more difficult it is to balance them and get it to look good.