FireDragon Plugins Problem

Hi guys, first of all....thanks a lot to the garuda team....i fell in love on this distro several months ago...and lost the tickling feeling of keep changing distro...hahaha. In any case, im not a coding expert or something, simply enjoy the linux experience.

Lately i got the firedragon browser and i really like it with its lovely detalis like darkreadfer, canvas and u block....and i just make the exceptions on the tabs i dont want them. Nevertheless i also love to watch plex and netflix and both of them need some plugins of widevine and cisco thing (screenshot attahced). The thing is that they never install and only says "OpenH264 Video Codec provided by Cisco Systems, Inc. will be installed shortly." and same for widevine. Could you please helpme to fix this issue and only use firedragon :)?

Thanks, have a great day.

Cheers,

karlangas

Ill have a look at that. I dont need these plugins so I didnt notice that until now, but its happening to me as well when trying to reproduce :thinking:
After doing some research I found that we have this in firedragon.cfg:

λ locate firedragon.cfg
/usr/lib/firedragon/firedragon.cfg
defaultPref("media.gmp-manager.url", "data:text/plain,");
defaultPref("media.gmp-manager.url.override", "data:text/plain,");

This pretty much overrides the actual URL so these "antifeatures" wont be installed (a Librewolf preference). By removing the part following

// -----------------------
// User Settings : DRM/CDM

and restarting the browser, you will be prompted to install the missing plugin. Let me know if this works for you, if it doesnt we will have to dig deeper :smiley:
Actually I want both of these to work as they are needed to do Netflix or other things people do so itll be included if working :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Hi dr460nf1r3, thanks a lot for your reply :slight_smile:

Unfortuantely it didnt worked.

Tried suppressing only

and also removing the whole DRM/CDM content