External Display on Lenovo Legion 7 (Ryzen CPU + NVIDIA GPU)

I am using the recently released Lenovo Legion 7 ( 16ACHg6) with AMD Ryzen 9 5900HX and NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3080.

I chose to use opensource drivers during the installation, and I see that DURING BOOTUP my external monitor turns on for about 5 second and shows an eagle (Garuda) for 5 seconds before turning off.

After that the OS appears to think that my external monitor no longer exists. I am new to using Linux on a desktop.

What happens if you use the option for the NVIDIA drivers?

Is this well-supported by the nouveau driver?

This is a laptop?

Also, Linux isn’t Windows, so don’t expect things to “just work” on newer or more obscure hardware (like the laptop you’ve just bought).

2 Likes

First:
Research your model. Some laptop models only have support for integrated graphics on their display ports.

Although , I would think a 5900hs would not have a integrated graphic chip

Edit: maybe it does. What is the unknown “ati” device

1 Like

ATI is the AMD cpu, it uses its old name on devices.

I will try the closesource driver for NVIDIA once I get to the machine. However, I believe that this may not be a driver issue as during bootup “I see that my external monitor turns on for about 5 second and shows an eagle (Garuda) for 5 seconds before turning off.” So something os already working before it get switches off.

Press Esc on "Eagle" to see the terminal output.

2 Likes

There are two roads here. As most things in life, one is hard but right and one is easy and wrong:

1. Provide feedback to the Linux community to help adjust current drivers and configurations to this newly released model
  2. Just use the included OS, so you can play games easily.

I could not understand whether you have managed to install Garuda, or stuck on installation.

If you want to follow the 1st road, you can try some things:

1. Boot with no external monitor(s), so you can see what is the behavior.