Dual Boot Workaround Tutorial [Physical Work Involved]

Hello everyone I am new to the Linux Desktop World and the Garuda forum.

Today I wanna bring you a tutorial on how you can have both windows and Linux on your system without having any concern of Windows updates breaking your Garuda + GRUB system.

Background Notes:

Since I have been looking at threads on the forum and I see no one has mentioned this as far as I can see and I also have seen people mentioning that Windows can break things on windows updates when you have dual boot with Garuda + GRUB.
And of course I can`t forget to mention that Garuda does not support dual boot.

Just wanted to bring this idea/workaround to the light on this forum so people can be aware that this is also an option you can do if you are into doing the little extra physical work for doing this.

My Scenario here is:

I have 1 SSD and 3 HDDs.

Lets say I wanted to play games like Destiny 2, FiveM(Multiplayer mod) for GTA V or even use any windows only software.

Here is the small tutorial for how to do it:

Requirements:

At least 2 drives SSD or HDD.

(But if you want both Windows and Garuda to be faster I would recommend 2xSSDs of course.)

1. Install Garuda on your SSD or HDD and unplug your second drive from your system.

Then

1. Setup your Garuda to your likings and turn off your computer.

Then

1. Unplug your Garuda Drive and plug in the empty drive you did not plug in at step 2.

NOTE:

If you have multiple drives that you are gonna use with Garuda I would recommend to remove those before the next step.

Then

1. Install Windows as normal with having step 3. done.

2. Congratulations you now have a pc with both Windows and Garuda.

AFTER INSTALL REMINDER:

So when you wanna launch into say Garuda you would remove your ALL Windows drives from your system or if you wanna launch Windows you remove ALL Garuda related drives from your system.

REMINDER FOR DESKTOP USERS: