DNS Error seen after hour of use

Hello. I am fairly new to Garuda and I am running into some DNS issues after running a recent package manager update. After about an hour of use, I am unable to access certain sites due to a DNS error. After I reboot my machine, everything is fine. Not quite sure what is going on. All I have been doing is a bit of python and QT Designer. Aside from running "pamac update" nothing has changed. Any advice or suggestions would be appreciated.

Which ones?

Sounds like DNS record caching - when you reboot, the cache is cleared, and the DNS record is resolved again.

Are you (or your ISP) overriding TTL?

2 Likes

What's your DNS Server? You can try changing it from Garuda Assistant. Another possible workaround would be to use one over https, you can find that setting by going to Firefox/Firedragon settings, scrolling all the way down to Network Settings, and clicking the Settings button.

3 Likes

It is happening for every sight i access.

I have investigated it further and I can access a search engine such as google and view the results of my search but when I try to visit the site it conks out and gives me a DNS error. I just rebooted and will post a screenshot of what I see when the error happens again.

What is TTL? I have not changed anything with my DNS configuration. Everything is set to default.

Should I post my /etc/resolv.conf? I do not know enough about networking to understand if that creates a vulnerability.

Have you rebooted your router?

Set your lease time in your router to a day (or longer).

Sure.

Also please post your services:

systemctl --type=service  > services.log  

Check your home directory for the services.log file.

1 Like

Sadly I cannot post images so I cannot show you what I see with the DNS issue. If I try to just use searX it is unable to connect.

I have not rebooted my router. I do not experience this problem on windows.

Here is my /etc/resolv/conf:

# Generated by NetworkManager
search nc.rr.com