Can this run without a GPU?

I'm new to Garuda but been using Linux for years. Can this distro run without a GPU? And what would be the best affordable Nvidia GPU to use with Garuda?

1 Like

Welcome in!

I'm running Garuda GNOME on a laptop with an integrated Intel 620 and performance is still fantastic. Even with my standard ~10 applications and 30+ tabs it remains smooth, but I do know that is also contingent on RAM and CPU. Still, impressive, and there's a lot of tuning available if you want a little more out of your machine.

I don't play a lot of games, and it occurs to me you may not either without a GPU, but Minecraft and osu!lazer run better than I've seen on any other distro besides maybe the absurdly slimmed BSPWM-Arch setup I made and used for a bit.

But there's no telling, I'd say just boot the live environment and check it out for yourself, keeping in mind the live iso will be a little slower than what it'll do on your metal. There's a good spread of editions too, so if all the sweetified blur of the Dragonized edition doesn't play nice, you do have some lighter options that still carry what's (IMO) most cool about Garuda.

4 Likes

There is nothing Garuda Linux does that requires a dedicated GPU. Most folks who have needs beyond what an integrated GPU can provide are running GPU-intensive software, such as rendering graphics or running a high-FPS game–stuff where you would need a dedicated graphics card no mater what distro you are on.

I understand this is a popular brand, but as someone who spends a lot of time in Linux forums I would suggest investigating another brand if that is an option for you. Nvidia hardware seems to be an endless source of frustration and grief for Linux users.

2 Likes

BTW, I run GTX 1060 with less and RTX 3060 without problems and great with Blender.
So, only some in notebooks have problems, IDK :person_shrugging: .

3 Likes