Backup your latte configs with a service

I noticed a few more config wiping issues for latte dock, and I thought I’d share what I did to create backups since I’m a noob at making systemd services, and I figure this is where folks will search for a solution to that issue as well. No amount of someone simply saying “make a backup” is going to help me given how busy I am, so I took some initiative on behalf of other users to do this and document my process.

I wrote a script to backup to my smb share that I mounted in /etc/fstab bounced back and forth between these two tutorials to run that script on a schedule:

https://www.math.cmu.edu/~gautam/sj/blog/20200216-rsync-backups.html

I have a directory where i keep my scripts in my home directory, you probably keep them somewhere different, be mindful of that as you read through.

~/scripts/backup-latte-configs.sh :

#!/bin/bash

DATE=`date '+%Y%m%d-%H%M%S'`
LATTECONFIGDIR="/home/meredith/.config/latte"
ARCHIVETARGET="/mnt/fruitsalad/meredith/backups/latte/backup-latte-$DATE.tar.gz"

tar -cvzpf $ARCHIVETARGET $LATTECONFIGDIR

~/.config/systemd/user/backup.service :

[Unit]
OnFailure=notify-email@%i.service

[Service]
Type=oneshot
ExecStart=/bin/bash /home/meredith/scripts/backup-latte-configs.sh

~/.config/systemd/user/[email protected] :

[Unit]
Description=Send email

[Service]
Type=oneshot
ExecStart=sh -c 'systemctl --user status %i | \
mailx -s "[SYSTEMD %i] Fail" meredith'

~/.config/systemd/user/backup.timer :

[Unit]
Description="Automatically run backups"

[Timer]
OnCalendar=daily
Persistent=true

[Install]
WantedBy=timers.target

Then in konsole, test it and enable if it works:

systemctl --user start backup.service
systemctl --user enable backup.timer

if it doesn’t work, journalctl --user-unit=backup.service.

I hope this saves some users time and effort! Thank you for your help with this issue.

8 Likes