1 year of Garuda

Intro:

I can’t believe it’s been a year, where is the time going :face_with_spiral_eyes:

I’m a little late for an introduction. I don’t really like “the spotlight”, so to speak. However, I wanted to make this post, mostly to show appreciation to the Garuda team and community, given today is my 1 year anniversary on the forum. So…

Me:

Hey, I’m Anthony. Most people I know call me Tony, but I go by Kilo on the webs. This nickname goes back to high school, I won’t bore you with all the details. Call me by whatever you want, though. There’s not a lot to say about myself. I’m a freelance fullstack web dev. I like tech, Linux, Garuda ( obviously ), food, movies, learning, and long walks on the beach ( this is my attempt at humor, I barely leave this house ). I’ve been in a constant battle of anxiety and depression since I was a child ( I fear medication so I don’t take any ). I also have a horrible short-term memory. Maybe you didn’t need to know any of that, but it’s who I am, so well… there it is.

Pre-Linux:

Before Garuda, I had been a Windows guy ( hate Apple, their software isn’t all bad though ). I had a few short lived experiments with Linux desktop in the past, but always wound up going back to Windows. My first introduction to Linux was Ubuntu in high school, somewhere around 2006. My next was when my computer was fried somewhere around 2012-2014 or so ( RIP ). I built a Frankenstein’s monster out of spare parts I had laying around, which only had 1gb of RAM. Loaded CrunchBang on it back before BunsenLabs took it over. I liked it, but that was before I was into tinkering with software. Mainly just used it as a means to use a web browser. However, back to windows I went when I built a new PC, as I was a big gamer back then.

Coming of Linux: