Would Garuda be a good fit for me?

Hi, I'm Jeevat and I am extremely new to Linux. I had used Manjaro last year but decided to switch back to Windows because I couldn't properly use the command line. I mainly want to game on Garuda, and am wondering can I use Garuda with minimal to (I doubt) no command line usage?

Thanks in advance,
Jeevat

im no expert but i would say yes u can use it without comamand line if all works fine . But if u have problems that must fix u will find mostly only command line infos .
But i come too from windows and i like comand line more and more bec u get more information what goes on .
so for fixing problems i think its good to know how to use console . For Gaming on steam its not needed to use commandline ..
and its not so complicated to learn a few basics :wink:

1 Like

Yes you can use pamac to install apps and most terminal commands are gui in garuda-assistant.

1 Like

I mean most games are gui so yeah.

Yes all games even most emulators are all Gui .. That i mean too :wink:

1 Like

Thanks guys! I'll be sure to try it out today!

BTW here's a little advice to help you choose a desktop.

KDE dragonized - If you want a nice cool looking desktop to show off to your friends.

KDE dragonized gaming - same as above but w/ preinstalled gaming apps

KDE multimedia - If you want a bunch of preinstalled apps to start off asap.

XFCE (Recommended by me) - if you want a stable, lightweight and customizable desktop (note. if you want to use this for gaming use the setup assistant to install linux-tkg-bmq)

GNOME - if you want a polished desktop.

lxqt-kwin if you want something different.

I don't recommend the WMs if you are just starting off.

1 Like

Stick to Windows. Garuda isn’t for “gamers” who don’t want to understand how their OS works.

9 Likes