Quick rundown on Garuda Welcomer

Sooo... I was wondering if anyone has got the time to explain to me what the features on the last page of the Garuda Welcomer do. I played around with some of them earlier and it bunked my installation, so I am not touching them again (for now :laughing:). I am only interested in the features I mention down below so for you techies it probably sounds like a stupid question.

I'm kinda new to the whole Linux thing, so please keep it simple :sweat_smile:

1. From what I can understand, SMB service is related to samba but what exactly does this 'Server Message Block' do?
  2. NMB service is related to NetBIOS - which, in poor terms, allows for the communication of application between different computers in a LAN, right?
  3. evdev-rce service?

-Many thanks!

They're both part of the protocol that Windows uses for file sharing among other things. So, yes. Samba.
So, that's why they're in the Samba section....right?
If you want to know inside stuff about the protocol, google is indeed your friend..it's all out there.
Evdev is a touchscreen service..don't really know anything else.

2 Likes

Not sure how changing the Samba defaults could bork your install. I have used the welcome app to disable Samba before (as I do not use Windoze).

As for the evdev setting I do not use a laptop so I can't say.

I hope when you say you bunked your installation you do not mean that you had to reinstall. That is the single biggest positive with Garuda, you should almost never need to reinstall. Simply roll your system back to a point before a problem occurred. That is why the distro has gone to great lengths to ensure Timeshift can restore your system to a good preexisting configuration without needing to reinstall.

4 Likes

Yeah, I used google to get the answers. But I wanted it "dumbed down" because I don't know the technical jargon too well.