Please help, I can’t concentrate!

Hello,
I have to do SAT prep, however, I am very distracted. I keep coming back to my phone and then coding. I noted something I heard from a psychologist - your mind can only focus for 20 minutes continuously without wandering past the task. How can I stop the distractions? I’ve tried using a code I wrote to cut my phone from the internet, but I keep stopping my code and checking my notifications. I’m trying to take a test, but my mind keeps wandering! I’m 14 years old so I’m still quite young. I do not have any mental conditions(besides mild anxiety, paruresis, and misophonia).

Not very nice for you, but what makes you think that in a technical forum about Garuda your concentration problems can be remedied?

As a layman, I could advise you to try some autogenic training, but what do I know?

6 Likes

I’m aware, but I know most of the people here to be very wise people who can likely help my case. In retrospect, I could have posted it on a mental health forum. Apologies.

3 Likes

sudo pacman -S adderall? :grin:

Set up study sprints. For 15 to 20 minutes focus on the SAT prep. Use an alarm so you don't have the distraction of tracking the time.
Then get out of your seat and do something physical, like walk or push-ups or just pace your room, for one to five minutes (you'll find the right balance with experimenting) to let your mind rest.
Then set up your alarm again and do another study sprint.

Good luck on the SAT!

10 Likes

Put your phone in another room. Study for 20-30 minutes. Then go look at your phone if you really need to.

I used to be tethered to my phone. Learning to accept that I can put my down and ignore it when I want to has made my life so much better.

PS. Is it normal to take the SATs when you are 14 now? I feel like I was 17 when I took them.

7 Likes

Some of us are smarter than others, @dalto
…and unfortunately I’m in the latter group. sob!

8 Likes