Network Connectivity Issues

Hello.
Let me just introduce myself briefly (Sorry for the unnecessary info :P)
I am a professional Linux user - be it Arch Linux, Gentoo or Ubuntu.
Went out to customise windows isos and then was stuck with windows for a while (it's what you would call debloating the iso before installing it)

Since people complained about the bloatware that comes along with Garuda Linux, I decided to go along with the KDE barebone edition.
As expected, no network.
Ran a live environment of Dr460nised edition and ran a few commands like ip link and ifconfig, and it seems that the wireless module is not being recognised by either of the two editions.
TBH, I am not sure of the wireless module that the system contains, it's gifted to me since the OG owner thought it was getting old (4GB RAM, one slot, can understand.) Thought of making some use of it as an experimental system of weird projects of mine.

I would really like to put an inxi output but I have to copy the text from the other system to this one, so it's a little bit of a trouble :stuck_out_tongue:

Thanks for your time :slight_smile:

Hi there, welcome.
I am sure you will understand that without the detailed technical specifications that only inxi-Faz (garuda-inxi after the initial system update) can give, no troubleshooting will be possible.
Do you have an ethernet port and connection? Or at least another USB port to use for mobile tethering?

3 Likes

Hey, thanks for the quick response.
Sadly, there is no ethernet port. It is a laptop smaller than the average laptops
Tried USB ethernet, but it is too slow, as slow as 10 B/s (that's Bytes, If I ain't wrong)

Hope you have a good day. Let me post the inxi in a while, after returning back to my home :slight_smile:

@filo Just logged onto my system and found that the barebone edition is connected to the internet. Wireless module works just fine, I had connected the system to the internet via USB ethernet, in a desperate attempt.