Intel Wi-Fi 6 AX200 - MSI B550M Wifi not working

Hello dear garuda community,
best greetings, im new to the linux world and to this forum and first of all thank you a lot for this great looking and feeling distro.

My problem:
wifi is not working. I guess it is a driver issue. my mainboard: msi mortar b550m wifi - so i have a board with wifi included. (with windows everything is working fine)

what can i do to get it running? Please consider im a real noob and i need step by step instructions.
by the way, i established internet trough usb tethering – so i can download stuff.

some extra information:
i already updated my system - didn’t help
i tried following:
sudo mhwd -isudo mhwd -i pci network-r8168 pci network-r8168 - didn’t help. get the error: script failed!

got the idea from here:

kind reagards and thanks already a lot for your help!!!

is there a rough aproximation how long it can take untill the driver will be ready to be installed through a system update?

just would like to now if it make sense for me to find a solution for over bridge the time

These are Ethernet drivers. We need to know your Wifi chip. Are you using an add in card or a USB Wifi dongle.

Please post:

inxi -SM; hwinfo --netcard --bluetooth | grep -Ei "(hotplug|speed|model|status|cmd|file|detected|driver:)" | grep -v "Config S"
4 Likes

System:
Host: max-neuhaus-pc Kernel: 5.10.14-119-tkg-bmq x86_64 bits: 64
Desktop: KDE Plasma 5.20.5 Distro: Garuda Linux
Machine:
Type: Desktop Mobo: Micro-Star model: MAG B550M MORTAR WIFI (MS-7C94) v: 1.0
serial: UEFI: American Megatrends LLC. v: 1.50
date: 01/13/2021
Model: "Intel Wi-Fi 6 AX200"
Driver Status: iwlwifi is active
Driver Activation Cmd: "modprobe iwlwifi"
Model: "Realtek RTL8125 2.5GbE Controller"
Driver: "r8169"
Device File: enp42s0
Link detected: no
Driver Status: r8169 is active
Driver Activation Cmd: "modprobe r8169"
Model: "Intel Bluetooth Device"
Hotplug: USB
Driver: "btusb"
Speed: 12 Mbps
Driver Status: btusb is active