Missing programs, selected during first start

Hello to every one! I am totally new to Linux. Garuda Assistant after OS installation offered to install some different programs. I chose some browsers (opera, chromium), some office programs (libre office) and other. But after assistant ended his work, there is almost none chosen programs appeared in start menu. My English is not good, so I could do some mistakes. I searched in forum, but didn`t find same case. Please help me.

Be sure you didn't use the "guest" user.
Change the user at the login screen

3 Likes

UPD: If in the search bar of start menu write Opera, there will be icon "Install Opera".

But if I click it, opens Install program manager and says nothing

I checked this, I am using created user, at the right-top corner displaying his name. Thank you for reply.

Try running the setup manager again.

1 Like

Good idea as the setup assistant has bugged like that for me before. I suggest that while you run it the second time you make a list of the software you check so that if it doesn't work, you can just run

sudo pacman -S list of software
2 Likes

You can also use that list to manually search up the software, using the Add/Remove Software app. It normally works fine that way too, I normally download my software like that since the setup assistant and me had some painful encounters :sweat_smile:

2 Likes

@Vigilante Solution for you now:

paru -S --needed - < ~/pkglist.txt

You don't need to select the packages manually once again, as Setup Assistant saves the list in ~/.pkglist.txt file.

There's a bug in the Setup Assistant. Long before I reported here but didn't get attention it seems :roll_eyes:. The problem is that when it asks for replacing some packages ([y/N]), it just removes packages and exits without upgrading. But for the second time, as the conflicting packages are removed already, the installs work. I think this should get fixed by Garuda team.

5 Likes