Long time Linux user comes to Garuda

I realized I've been around now for a couple months now, have made some merge requests into Garuda already, and been active (more so in the Discord/Matrix than the forums), but, I figure it's time to introduce myself.

Hi! I'm Psi-Jack! Been using Linux for.... Just over 30 years now, and I'm going to continue to do so. I've used other operating systems... Windows up to NT 4.0 in a serious manner, but up to about 7 in occassional piddling. I use macOS on a regular basis for personal and business use, as it's generally my choice when the company offers me a company laptop, to go with a MacBook Pro because it interoperates very well with pretty much anything "business" related and isn't Windows. I've also used other operating systems, AIX, Irix, Solaris, SunOS, OS/2. etc etc etc..

So, yeah, been around a bit. I program, though I am not a software engineer, just a hobby/casual programmer, in various languages including Python, Rust, Pony, C++, PHP, and bash/zsh scripting. I've done other languages including Perl, Pascal, Dynamic C, and some lisp only for what's needed, and similarly lua. Ancient history languages I've worked with have been COBOL, Fortran, RPG, and BASIC (c64 and cisc).

So, all in all, a very.... diverse background and jack of all trades of knowledge set... I've literally forgotten more Linux than most people will likely ever know in their lifetimes, because of how long I've been using it extensively and primarily.

Oh, and I still run an actual BBS system, you know the things that pre-dated the internet? Yes those. And so while I don't use modern day forums so much because they're just nothing like the simplicity of the BBS forums I'm so used to. :slight_smile: