KDE lite edition

Hello,

In the last couple of years I've been using mostly manjaro/KDE which worked really well, but I was always curious about other distros (tried EndeavourOS, arcolinux, RebornOS etc). Are there any significant benefits to using garuda KDE lite edition compared to other arch-based/kde distros?

TIA

Sorry for my bad english, I am a newbie in terms of linux knowledge (I use the system as it is) but not in terms of years of usage because I use it since 1999 (Debian, Mandrake-Mandriva, RedHat, Fedora, Opensuse, Xubuntu and so on ...) and with my new notebook I have tried varius Arch distro with KDE because I discover that I love arch and KDE so I try the original Arch and varius derivate as Arcolinux, endeavours ... and when I discover Garuda KDE Lite I'm in love with this distro. Is similar to XeroLinux that is a arch + tricks and easy tools to install basic programs. I don't like strange GUI (for example I use android stock on my smartphone because I don't like OEM roms) so I prefer use KDE Lite instead of nornal Garuda edition Dragonized. The only downside is that for KDE Lite you don't have any help by the forum but if you have enough knowledge is not a matter. Try it and I'm sure you will love KDE Lite

3 Likes

Yeah, just boot the live ISO and try out. :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Yeah, the Garuda software suite, automation, and basically everything else about Garuda that isn’t about the theme.

7 Likes

The answer depends upon what you view as being significant. Kick the tires; take it for a drive.

4 Likes

Yeah, the Garuda software suite, automation, and basically everything else about Garuda that isn’t about the theme.

I read your comment as saying the primary, maybe only, substantial difference between the lite edition and full edition is the theming and aesthetics, is that accurate?

No, the comment was highlighting some major differences between a basic install of KDE lite and vanilla arch install with stock KDE.