Greetings from an old Manjaro user

Hello guys, I'm SlayerProof32 and if you remember, I used to be an avid Manjaro user, however they made some controversial changes with their forum that annoyed me. That allowed me to look for alternatives! There are two that I found that I loved.

1. EndeavourOS (Strong community, distro built for those who know what they are doing)
  2. Garuda Linux

I was drawn to this distro because I'm a big KDE fan and loved the initial look of the Dr4gon1zed edition. The pre-installed distro tools also look cool (Assistant, boot config, gamer, hardware manager). I also love the prioritization of BTRFS. I've been using it for 3 years now, no problems yet.

AND FINALLY someone gets HOW ANNOYING it is when YOU HAVE 50+ tabs open and your Linux system starts to freeze up. I'd much prefer a OOM killer kill old tabs, rather than having a locked up system I have to force reboot! I use early OOM now, but I heard nohang does a similar thing!

This distro really feels like something I can actually recommend to people who are Linux beginners. Hopefully the experience proves it! Will report back after I boot a live image!

15 Likes

:slight_smile:

I can not remember names well, only avatars, so change your avatar here with the one from the old forum, but only if it is not green :wink: .

But maybe you remember many here who are now in Garuda team.

4 Likes

Welcome! I think you'll feel right at home and will enjoy the Manjaro tools plus other goodies on a rolling Arch based.

Nohang was used in earlier on, but if I recall correctly systemd-oomd is preferred now by the developers. Luckily I haven't had to put either to the test yet :blush:

3 Likes

Hello, and welcome.

2 Likes

It was reverted quickly due to systemd-oomd performed very poorly compared to nohang

5 Likes