Garuda linux laggy perfomance even on SSD

I was looking to migrate from Windows OS to linux and after looking the hype I decided to try Genome Garuda linux.Initially I installed it on seperate hdd.But I was not satisfied with the performance. So I decided to dual boot it on my SSD alongside windows 10.But still I'm having issues.The system is lagging even on SSD. Moreover wifi speed is pathetic when I try to install packages using Add/Remove Genome GUI.Since I'm a newbie I might be doing something wrong that is hurting the performance. Please help me since I really liked the OS but the laggy part is taking out all the fun.

1 Like

It might be a good idea to refresh mirrors using reflector and this Increasing download speed of Chaotic-AUR | Garuda Linux wiki.

Laggy can mean pretty much everything, what exactly do you observe?
Please take a look at the following and post the inxi output here, without information we can only do wild assumptions :thinking:

3 Likes

By lagging I mean the OS is lagging as compared to windows 10 on SSD. Files and packages are opening late as compared to windows 10.I thought that linux is faster than windows and after I installed windows on SSD it's performance went to next level.But didn't happen with Garuda. I thought I would be running a super fast PC.
Also when I initially installed Garuda linux, I used Garuda's Asisstance to install additional packages.(1.1Gb). But after the download completed I did not see any packages installed on the system.

Note:
I ran inxi -Fxxxza cmd and the graphic devices it displayed are:
Device-1: Intel HD Graphics 620
Device-2: NVIDIA GM108M [GeForce MX130]
OpenGL: renderer: Mesa Intel HD Graphics 620 (KBL GT2)

Is there anythiing more that I can include?

That's not massively descriptive... :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

This might indicate there are background processes running. Have you checked the output of top and iotop ? (you will likely have to install iotop first).