File transfer bug maybe?

Ok, I'm a little new to linux, and normally I wouldn't try and do something like this in an unfamiliar OS, but my sister has an old imac hard drive she wants pictures off of and my windows machine won't read her drive. Linux reads it fine. More than fine actually, but Garuda for some reason won't let me transfer it to a thumb drive. I keep getting an error that says "Could not make folder /run/media/filename/USB31FD/filename/Pictures/place ." I can make folders manually, but it won't make the folder in order to do the transfer. Also I can transfer all of the individual sub-folders one at a time, but I can't just send the whole containing folder.

I can transfer the whole folder to my Linux drive without problem. I am also able to transfer it to an extra hard drive without issue, but both of those drives are ext4 and windows/mac won't read it unless I format it; which would then destroy anything I put on it. I have tried fat32 and exfat (Since the file is significantly larger than 4 gigs). I have tried transferring with root options on right click, I have tried running as root. I have tried transferring with command line sudo and as root. Macs have trouble with NTFS and my sister is not computer savvy. Garuda simply will not allow me to transfer this 500gig file of pictures with all of its subfolders.

I have searched ddg for the error message and get nothing. I have looked through the forums on both Arch and Garuda and can't find any one who has had the same problem. Honestly, I was able to work around by transferring each sub-folder manually, so it's not a must-fix, but it was incredibly time consuming and tedious. I was wondering if there was something I'm missing, if there is some limit because of fat file systems I don't know about, or if this is a bug that needs to be worked out in Dolphin.

Thanks,

Rulo out

Compress the files to a single file, then try transferring the archive.

2 Likes