Failed to commit transaction

Hello!

well i am new to Garuda and BlackArch in general. I hopped from mint.
when i try to run sudo pacman -Syu (or install anything really) i get that error.

terminal shows something like this:

Running pre-transaction hooks...
(1/4) Creating Timeshift snapshot before upgrade...
timeshift: error while loading shared libraries: libicuuc.so.68: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Unable to run timeshift-autosnap! Please close timeshift and try again. Script will now exit...
error: command failed to execute correctly
error: failed to commit transaction (failed to run transaction hooks)

Update your icu package. As indicated by a similar error on the archlinux forums.

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=220224

No
You should use sudo pacman -Syu
Sorry that post is not suitable for you

how do i do that ?

Goto Add/Remove Programs and search icu.

u don't get the point here.
failed torun transaction hooks error occurs when literally installing anything.
including that icu

any suggestions ?

Restore snapshot

2 Likes

how ?
i am very new sorry

Read the wiki

1 Like

will reinstalling the distro help ?

That is why the distro includes timeshift snapshots by default so that you do not need to reinstall if you encounter a difficulty during an update.

Read the wiki entry on restoring your system with timeshift please.

1 Like

well, i just reinstalled the distro because it was freshly installed.
it fixed it

Generally a reinstall will not fix an update issue, as once the system update is performed usually the issue will return.

A reinstallation will usually only remedy a bad update if during the interim a new fix was released to correct whatever issue caused the problem in the first place.